WTAMU Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes November 22, 2024

Attended: Kenneth Leitch, Nancy Garcia-Franken, Brandon Bang, David Craig, Traci Fredman, David Hart, Callie Hisek, Turkan Kilic, Chelsea Kuehler, Audrey Meador, Blake Price, Matt Reardon, Jim Rogers, Laura Reyher, John Shanks, Brandli Stitzel, Shiquan Tao, Vinu Unnikrishnan, Kerrie Young

Absent: Gary Byrd, Bridget Guerrero, Shanna Peeples, Fisseha Alemayehu, Leon Chen, David Howe, Kristy Bartlett

Proxies: Alicia Macchione, Tanner Robertson, Nicole Kraus, Roy Issa, Carl Zhang

Guests: Ryan Brooks

The regular meeting of the West Texas A&M Faculty Senate on Nov. 22, 2024, was called to order at 12:17 p.m. by President Kenneth Leitch in the Jack B. Kelley Student Center's Eternal Flame room.

Approval of Prior Meetings

The minutes for the regular meetings on Nov. 08 were reviewed. Blake Price moved to approve the minutes with corrections (i.e., name/date corrections). The motion was seconded and passed.

Presentation

Ryan Brooks informed the senators about the AAUP—WT Chapter, which has core principles, including shared governance, academic freedom, economic security, and quality education. Faculty interested in joining should visit aaup.org. To contact the local chapter, they can email wtamu_aaup@proton.me. A Q&A followed the presentation.

Officer's Reports and Remarks

President

- A meeting between President Wendler and Faculty Senate President Kenneth Leitch happened on Nov. 20. Topics discussed included progress on the research building on the WT campus, the role of the Faculty Senate at the University, and textbooks.
- 2. University Promotion & Tenure meeting on Dec. 6

President-Elect

No new business to report.

Secretary

No new business to report.

Committee Reports

Faculty Handbook Committee

A Faculty Handbook Proposal form to allow "a year between applications" between "unsuccessful promotion attempts." The proposal states that "this period provides the opportunity to develop in meaningful ways, making future applications more likely to succeed and strengthening the candidate's professional trajectory overall." In a follow-up email regarding the Faculty Handbook Proposal, Wade Shaffer stated that the form sent is "concerning limiting the number of times someone could apply for promotion to full professor."

David Craig made a motion to ask for clarification on whether the number of times or the timeframe for successive applications is limited and what the language will likely be based on Wade Shaffer's email on Nov. 20. Motioned was seconded and passed. Motion carries.

David Craig provided a report on communication requirements from the administration, based on the August 2024 Faculty Handbook, in response to questions about the requirements for communicating status to faculty candidates during the third-year review and tenure process. The faculty candidate should receive feedback (generally a letter) at all levels. Questions remain about receiving the committee letters from the third-year review.

The Faculty Handbook Committee will meet to formulate a handbook change requiring administrators to send the candidates a letter with substantial feedback about their departmental progress, including college committee reports.

Joint Faculty/Student Committee on Academic Affairs

No new business to report; a meeting with the Student Government Association will be requested after the Thanksgiving break.

Equity Pay Ad Hoc Committee

The committee has met and will seek reliable resources to gather information for comparable institutions.

Unfinished Business

Kenneth Leitch announced the process for the selection of faculty members to serve on the CPE committee for the 9 candidates across the college. Names from qualified faculty were drawn from a hat and verified by two other senators:

- ANS: Donna Byers, Ty Lawrence, David Khan, Sean Pullen, Wade Shaffer
- BUS: Brandli Stitzel, Anne Terry, David Howe, Eddie Henderson, Donald Lefevre
- ESS: Brigette Whaley, Michelle Simmons, Justin Moeller, John Landon, James Barger
- FAH: Douglas Story, Christopher Meerdink, Amy Von Lintel, Kendall Samuelson, Mallory Vestal
- NHS: -----
- COE: Audrey Meador, Erick Butler, William Ambrose, Callie Hisek, Adam Weiss
- Alternates: John Shanks, Jeremy Lewis, Kimberly Hieb, Jennifer Kunz, Lance Baker, Bonny MacDonald

New Business

The calendar invitations for spring 2025 have been sent.

Upcoming in January 2025

- 1. Potential visit from President Wendler on Jan. 24, 2025
- 2. Kenneth Leitch will contact faculty members from each college CPE committee for 2025SP

Adjournment

David Craig moved to adjourn the meeting, which was seconded at 1:30 p.m.

Respectfully,

Nancy García-Franken